Venice: canals, gondolas, masquerade…craft…?

This week I am finally getting around to sharing some of my favourite things from my travels last summer. So I thought I would start by finally posting about my day trip to Venice with my mum last June.

IMG_20160622_114957022.jpg

What you you think of when you think of Venice? Canals and gondolas? Churches and palaces? Masks and carnival? Well, I have something new to add to the list…when I think of Venice I think of craft and upcycling!

img_20160622_114947187

When we arrived by at the central train station in Venice we followed the crowds trying to make their way to see the Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. Winding our way along narrow alleys, over picturesque bridges and besides canals we discovered several shops selling local handmade wares. Alongside the usual textiles, ceramics and glass, I also found some charming upcycling like the flowers and masks above.

img_20160701_125718

The theme of upcycling continued when I visited the Architectural Biennale. The 2016 curator, Alejandro Aravena, is a personal hero of mine, and emphasised waste as one of the themes of the year. In response several of the participants tackled this issue in interesting and creative ways. Upcycling was a very popular response and I loved these plastic bottle chandeliers!

img_20160622_142232297_hdr

And these upcycled pigs!

Another highlight of the biennale was the wonderful papercraft of ADNBA from Romania. They had created a whole cityscape in paper and cardboard. The scenes could only be viewed through cutout holes, giving the viewer the feeling of being inside the scene and offering different perspectives.

img_20160701_125640img_20160701_125654img_20160701_125705

What a wonderful day in Venice!

img_20160622_185252659_hdr

Leave a Reply

